Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Francis Prève vs The Chaotic Good - Collider EP

Academik's new release veers into breaks territory with Francis Prève and The Chaotic Good's "Collider".

The original mix of "Collider" entangles hard-as-nails synth elements with atmospheric moments via an arrangement that whips from section to section like an out-of-control particle accelerator. Prève's analog-fueled sound design tactics fuse with The Chaotic Good's impeccably punchy production skills in a way that sounds utterly fresh in the context of the current EDM landscape.

The Shreddward remix of "Collider" recombines the original synth and drum parts into a peak-time minimal stomper that fits beautifully in tech sets of all kinds. Shreddward combines the original elements with a funkier vibe, placing the focus squarely on Shredd's rolling subsonic bombast before rising to a second payoff that sets up your next track perfectly, no matter what's in your crate.

Beatport Release Date: June 12, 2012

Monday, March 12, 2012

Jan van Lier - True Stories EP

Academik's new release veers into techno territory with Jan van Lier's "True Stories".

The original mix of "True Stories" is a driving blend of rolling subsonic bass, topped off with house elements and a rising lead that keeps pushing the energy higher as the track evolves. As with Jan van Lier's previous hits on Definitive and Blu-Fin, "True Stories" is a main room techno crowd-pleaser that works beautifully in both headlining and afterhours sets.

Francis Prève's take on "True Stories" turns up the boom with a funky, electro-tinged bass line, gene-spliced with mutated versions of the original house elements. From there, Prève takes the rising synth of the original and morphs it into an 80s-inflected big room lead that combines catchy with classic, while staying true to the original vibe. The result is a peak-time tech house groover that fits equally well into electro and progressive sets.

Beatport Release Date: March 12, 2012

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Academik Records SXSW 2012 Event

On March 17, 2012, from 3pm-2am, Academik Records presents its second annual SXSW event, at Lanai Rooftop Lounge in Austin, Texas. Overlooking the action - at the corner of 5th and Congress, in the heart of the downtown club district - the Academik event will include performances from both emerging and established electronic artists.

The spotlight of the event will be the worldwide debut of legendary electronica/progressive act, Andain. This live performance will showcase Andain's classic hits, like "Beautiful Things" and "Summer Calling" - as well as their newest tracks, "Promises" and "Much Too Much".

In addition to the debut of Andain, the party will include DJ sets from Francis Prève, Jan van Lier, The Chaotic Good, and SecretPandaSociety - covering a broad range of EDM genres, from tech house to breaks.

Throughout the event, Academik's sponsors (listed below) will be giving away the latest electronic music production tools and software, including free copies of Ableton Live, Dave Smith Instruments' fully analog Mopho keyboard, Propellerhead Balance with Reason Essentials, as well as products from KorgiZotopeCreate Digital Music, and Bleeplabs.

White-hot EDM blog, LessThan3 - and the timeless and essential Keyboard Magazine - will also be co-sponsoring the event, bringing great vibes and some nifty giveaways as well.

Entering the contest is a straightforward process involving Facebook and Twitter.

Contest rules can be found HERE.

The Academik event will be open to the public, with NO cover, NO wristbands, and NO attitude, so get there early to ensure your place at the party.

Monday, January 30, 2012

Servo vs Colossus - Out NOW on Beatport!

"Servo vs. Colossus" - the long-awaited collab between prog legends, Gabriel & Dresden, and synth guru, Francis Prève -  has arrived exclusively on Beatport. Here's the link to buy it.

In addition to being featured on Benny Benassi's podcast last week, support for "Servo vs. Colossus" has come from a huge range of world-class DJs including Blake Jarrell, Noel Sanger, Tyler Michaud, Matt Lange, Jan van Lier, MC Flipside, Dan Tait, and Andy Perring (Pulser).

Blake Jarrell
Rating: 5/5
Comments: Thanks!

Matt Lange
Rating: 4/5
Comments: Cool! Thanks!

MC Flipside
Rating: 4/5
Comments: This is huge.

Tyler Michaud
Rating: 5/5
Comments: This is an excellent track! Full support! Have been waiting for this one since their 'Mixed for Feet' compilation.

Andy Perring
Rating: 4/5
Comments: Cool!

DJ Ron
Rating: 4/5
Comments: Absolutely amazing

Dan Tait
Rating: 4/5
Comments: Nice ruff track - lots of energy!

Noel Sanger
Rating: 5/5
Comments: Yeah. Huge. Can't wait to drop this one!

Jan van Lier
Rating: 5/5
Comments: Bangin!!!!

Monday, January 9, 2012